beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello, it's me again.

I know, I know, it's been a long time. But if you read that last entry over and over, you can really read a lot between the lines. I just wanted to give you all time to deconstruct.

Not really. I'm just really, really busy. I was going to post an email I got from my Dad about how he saw Ted Kennedy get out of an SUV and swat tennis balls to his two poodles. But now I can't find the email.

I tell you what though. Take the Beulah Bondi Poetry Challenge, and write me a nice haiku or villanelle about Ted Kennedy and some poodles. No Chappaquiddick jokes, okay?

And if you like haiku and villanelles, here is one of each on the subject of taxes, by my tax accountant Peter Desmond:

Villanelle:� April 15

Two hundred clients see me every year.

They call or e-mail, and we set a date

as, month by month, the filing deadline nears.

The organized, the ones who face their fears,

the ones due refunds (federal and state) --

I meet those clients early in the year.

Our sessions are relaxed -- my schedule's clear.

They've added their receipts; they're never late.

The calls come faster when the deadline's near.

Slow filers are predictable, though dear:

next time, they vow, they won't procrastinate.

April brings half my clients for the year.

In heart-to-hearts that no one else will hear

I jot down notes, ask questions, calculate,

hand them their tax forms as the deadline nears.

I've come to feel they always will appear --

old, young, singles, couples gay and straight --

That I'll see all two hundred every year.

But decades pass, and sterner deadlines near.

(the haiku)

early april

buried receipts burst forth

deductions blossom

11:16 p.m. - 2004-05-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym