beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wilson the night away (updated)

Truly, I am a terrible diarist this year. Blame it on the bossa nova and the fact that I am teaching seventh grade, which requires me to leave the house by seven am and spend my evenings composing grammar quizzes. Being new to the seventh grade curriculum, I have to read all the time too, and I'm about half an hour ahead of my students.

I hear their little voices in my head as I fall asleep: "Ms Bondi! Ms. Bondi! Uhhh Ms. Bondi?" They're teetering on the edge of sexual awareness but still muy geeky and uncertain. So we spend a lot of time organizing our binders and going over the homework and figuring out bus fare and such.

However! I did manage to go out last night with Nancy Drew (Cracklaugh), her husband, and my Danish friend, and we went to a reading/performance by Cintra Wilson and she has two reading dates left, in DC and in Philadelphia. Get out there! This woman is amazing! She memorized a chapter of her book and spit it out like gravel mixed with triple sec. I talked with her after and was all fan-like and told her it was like meeting Bruce Springsteen.

So go! Go, all of you! Go hear Cintra or read her books! Now I have to go read about Christopher Columbus. Was he an explorer or a bad guy? What do our biases have to do with our perceptions? Anyone?
And GO SOX! And thank you to ANDREW for the link to Howard Zinn's article on Columbus. I have actually assigned this for Friday and now I don't have to xerox the book, I can just print from the link.

6:29 p.m. - 2004-10-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym