beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Snowflakes; arrows

Tum te tum. Waiting to hear where I'll be spending the summer. The place where I usually work, except for last summer, is dragging its feet. Too many snowflakes in the air. Can't wait for them all to hit the ground at once, dude. Then this morning I had an interview with another place that seemed promising and I'd be teaching either in western Mass. or in Paris (ooh!) or Tuscany (ah!). And next week I'm talking with a friend about working for his theater company in Gloucester (don't know the link). That's Gloucester, Mass., as in the Perfect Stawm, pally.

So while the Sagittarian part of me waits, amused, to see where the arrow hits, I would kind of like to make sure I have something. I'm impatient; I've been spoiled by a couple of really good jobs that I was offered on the spot.

In the meantime, what is the deal with J Lo "having to stay in Los Angeles on the advice of her doctors"? Is she suffering from more than post-Grammynovela embarassment? How awful to be J Lo. I mean, maybe she has really bad diarrhea, or she's been subpoenaed (hey, it's happened, right?) or she lost her car keys or something. And here we are speculating.

There was a nice lunch today for the Arts Leaders of the World's Greatest University. We have these lunches twice a year. Last spring Quincy Jones was the speaker. He mostly name-dropped about Oprah's birthday party. The year before was a crazy conductor who kissed me on the cheek when I asked him a question. This year we had a theater director who was very charismatic and made the Arts Leaders feel like they were doing something incredibly necessary and interesting and worthwhile--all the time relating it back to her deal, which is training and educating black children, of which there were maybe two college-age versions in the room, of course.

Me, I nabbed one of the Arts Leaders who I really like, a very original person who's interested in garbage as material culture and as art, and who has a band that performs in white space suits, very alienated and alienating. This type of student is not a dime a dozen at the university, so you know I was pleased to find him and make him sit next to me at lunch.

You know, when I was in college, no one ever, ever, treated me like an adult, which is probably why I was such a spaz for years to come. Anyway. Yes. Cheers and goodnight.

9:21 p.m. - 2005-02-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym