beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chicken-Lips? Yeah, I know her

Uhhhhhhh I am so Harvaded out. I have hit the wall. A week of 12-hour days. Now I have a pretty good capacity for work, but I need variety, and all this toiling around our little square mile of 02138 -- I'm just a bee in a jar, as a friend of mine once described Twyla Tharp's choreography.

The show I am costuming just tipped me over the edge. These people are Just So Aggravating. The thing is, see, at Harvard there are virtually no classes in theater -- there is one acting class, one directing class, one design class. All the shows are extracurricular, and produced by students, so they don't work very closely with adults. And they miss out on learning basic theater etiquette. I don't mean the silly lore like don't sneeze in the theater, or don't say "Macbeth." I mean like don't smoke in your costumes, or don't wander around the house in costume, or don't give whiny notes to the costume designer who HELLO is not the wardrobe girl or the laundress. Don't go up to her at one hour before curtain and say, about another character's costume, "I thought the rose on the Baroness's dress was going to stay." Me: "Why? Are you using it in some way?" (thinking if he was doing some business with it, fine) Him: "No, I just thought...there was consensus....it's just....whatever...it's just aesthetic...." Perhaps it was Beulah's icy smile of wrath that cut him off, or maybe he just realized he was being ridiculous.

The director, who was great and not snotty, and a grown-up, turns out he knows Kitty from long ago. Hi Kitty! I said, do you know her sister Tangela? And he said, "You mean Chicken-Lips?" Ha! When Tange was around 14 and doing drama at the program this guy runs, she decided she wanted to be called Chicken-Lips. Go Tangela.

So goodnight, then, I must get horizontal.

Icily,
Beulah

10:43 p.m. - 2005-04-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym