beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Clear-cut blogging

It all started Friday morning. After an invigorating phone conversation with my good friend Al Bradley about his upcoming yard sale, I drank a second cup of coffee and decided to buy a computer.

You have to understand that I have a very hard time spending large amounts of money. I dart and weave and feint all around the decision, and I fret for days afterward. Four years ago, I spent an entire therapy session on my decision to buy a brand-new desk. Before Friday, the only other costly things I owned were my car (but I needed a car, plus I was so depressed at the time I could hardly move, let alone dart and weave and feint) and my couch (bought with a windfall I earned writing something for a Harvard Business School professor).

So like a true Mass-hole, I drove to Nashua, New Hampshire to avoid the sales tax, and even though I was sweating with guilt and anxiety over shopping at CompUSA, and even though CompUSA was making me crazy with the blaring Bob Seger music, I purchased this computer. It's white and purty and has "panes," not windows. I'm in bed with it right now. My optical mouse skims over the sheets. In my line of sight, my toes are in their own toolbar over the "real" one. I feel very 20th century.

The anxiety set in soon enough. Sunday morning I got a speck in my eye and thought, great, I'm going to scratch my contact, or my cornea, and that's my payback for spending $1500 on a computer when there's a free one down the street at the library. Sunday night my car battery was dead (left the lights on) and I had to ride my bike to the Museum of Science, where I was meeting my friend, the wife of Harry the Greek, and it was dark and raining, and I thought, there you have it, I'm going to get killed here on Cambridge Street because I bought a computer. But I got the speck out, and got the car started yesterday, and nothing else particularly bad has happened, except that Al's yard sale has been postponed, but that's no nevermind-me.

So there's the technological background. What do youse want to hear about? I've been writing as Beulah for more than a year now but I feel funny having my own spin-off.

Who is Beulah without Kitty? Do you even want to know?

By the way, Beulah Bondo was Beulah Bondi's real name, and Beulah Bondi was in, among other movies, "It's a Wonderful Life."

Tomorrow, unless I hear otherwise, you're going to hear about my dress shields.

10:57 p.m. - 2002-10-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym