beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The quick brown fox, etc.

Dateline East Cambridge, home of Mr. Ron Coe. Me and my laptop. This on-site recording is a little twee and pretentious, but I'm telling people I have to practice for typing class tomorrow.

At this unusual Wednesday night ping pong party, Mr. Ron Coe's Silent Partner and his Whipping Boy, Jeremy, are watching a documentary they produced on Custer's Last Stand, and the criticism is thick and acrid. "Listen to her s's! She has a lisp!" "Tell me again, why is he the host?" No ping or pong at the moment. The Greyhound notes that the piles of stuff on Mr. Ron Coe's stairway ledge have grown since two weeks ago. Let's itemize: a couple of pieces of twisty driftwood, about 12 art books, a slithering pile of postcards from art galleries. There aren't any bookshelves. The ping pong table dominates the room, as does the German-built ping pong pitching machine, which looks like an iron lung made of netting. Incroyable!

On the wall: a sculptural object: a shirt made of TV Guide pages printed on cloth, on a wooden hanger, with matching shorts hanging from the bottom hem.

Jeremy and the Silent Partner want me to go on some dating show they're producing. I don't even date in real life! They say that's fine. I'll assemble my team: Nancy Drew, Sgt Donna Puma, the Greyhound come to mind. They want me to include an ex-boyfriend if possible. The premise of the show is that they're my coaches and help me pick someone up. So we need to make a demo tape. I think we should go to the cafe at the Cambridge food coop and pick up the various burnouts and pimps and crazy people who frequent the place.

Mr. Ron Coe just gave the Greyhound a CD. He's mighty happy. It's the soundtrack to Badly Drawn Boy. "It's a burned CD," he says. "That might be worth mentioning. And a lot of these titles sound like Oprah episodes: 'Walking out of Stride.' 'Silent Sigh.' "

Mr. Ron Coe and I are still the undefeated doubles team, after a neat two-game swat, 21-12, 21-14.

Now I'm in Mr. Ron Coe's bedroom, uploading this. He has a lot of interesting books, including "New Adventures in Lesbian Fiction." Pretentious twit! (He longs to be insulted online, he told me.)

What we're eating: Dumplings of various Chinese sorts; smoked salmon; salt and vinegar potato chips; smoked trout; steamed pork buns.

10:55 p.m. - 2002-11-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym