beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Winona writes; MJ exhibits

Winona Ryder-related quote of the day: "She selected from collections that can elicit a frisson but that also have staying power."--Robin Givhan in the Washington Post Style section. (Thanks, Dad, for the link!)

Winona Ryder-related quote of yesterday: "She's pretty, and she's like a role model and stuff. She touched my pen." --Brittni, 14, who with her friend Ciarra got Ryder's autograph at the courthouse. Ryder wrote so much more than her name. According to the Boston Globe, a grateful and didactic Ryder scribbled, "Thank you so much. Lots and lots of peace and love. PS. Essential listening: Bright Eyes (Lifted), Wilco (Yankee Foxtrot Hotel)."

Photographer MJ Benson (her real name) has a beautiful show up at the Boston Private Bank. Her pearly, gritty, sandy landscapes make me happy. And it was a gorgeous reception, attended by lots of white-toothed Republicans plus me, Sgt. Donna Puma, the Greyhound, and some friends of mine and DP's from grad school. Dinner after with the towering Alta and her boyfriend, who I don't have a Web name for yet. If you live in Boston, go see it! I think I like private banks and their galleries as much as I like swanky hotels.

The bank is gorgeous too, in the old money way. "You know that guy from Community Chest in Monopoly?" said the Greyhound. "He banks here."

Whew. I'm glad to be home, after whizzing around a lot of leafy suburbs that start with W all day. I feel like a cab driver. Shift, shift, brake, brake. Now I'm going to reheat my delicious leftovers (catfish, hushpuppies, slaw) and have a beer and read and watch Britcoms on 44.

P.S. Hi there, Nancy Drewsie -- hope I can see you on Sunday!

5:14 p.m. - 2002-11-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym