beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"A glimpse that comes too late"

While I wait for Sgt. Donna Puma and the Greyhound, I will quote Doris Salcedo, the sculptor I heard speak last night. Doris read for 50 minutes from her artist's statement, with a great deal of passion but a great deal of abstraction. It was very provocative but it also made me very tired.

However, I liked these things that she said:

* "Partial negation is the first step toward violence."

* "You never kill someone you consider your equal."

* "I don't believe in permanent memorials. People have the responsibility to remember. I don't think objects are capable of remembering."

5:22 p.m. - 2002-12-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym