beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Staid

I just can't get it up to write this week. Maybe the massive amounts of tv and movies in my life are to blame. Last night I went to "Punch-Drunk Love" at the bargain cinema. Yeesh! It was so ugly and thin and stuttering, despite the moments here and there of lucidity. I don't care how "charming" or "human" the characters are, or how woozy and schmoozy the Hawaii scenes, that's one plug-ugly, almost unbearable movie. Then I went home and watched "The Bachelorette." Then I read the ABC.com "Bachelorette" message board. Oh lord help me.

Let's instead look to Samuel Pepys, whose 1660 diary is now on line, one entry per day.

Having been exceedingly disturbed in the night with the barking of a dog of one of our neighbours that I could not sleep for an hour or two, I slept late, and then in the morning took physic, and so staid within all day.

As my diary reviewer said, he doesn't "state the emotion."

...We went to read in the great Officiale about the blessing of bells in the Church of Rome. After that my wife and I in pleasant discourse till night, then I went to supper, and after that to make an end of this week�s notes in this book, and so to bed. It being a cold day and a great snow my physic did not work so well as it should have done.

That reminds me, I need to go take my physic now. Will try to stay vertical today.

10:58 a.m. - 2003-01-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym