beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pirate review

I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, even when my usual difficulty following action scenes was increased by the usual strange jerky silent-movie rapidity of these action scenes. Douglas Fairbanks leaps around like a beautiful monkey in his daring swaths of black cloth and does tricks like stab his knife into a ship's sail, then skim down the length of the sail as it rips. He does this three times, it's so spectacular. Back when special effects meant something. There are parrots, earrings, peglegs, one-arms, tattered bandannas, buried treasure, and all the pirate accoutrements we've come to expect. When did these pirate symbols start, though, in the legends or the movies?

Before the movie, the wife of Harry the Greek, her little son Spam, and I were crossing the street to the burrito shop, and a car nearly ran us down in the crosswalk. Furious, I actually swung my purse at his windshield. It was an itty bitty purse that Kitty gave me for Christmas and barely made a sound, so I felt really dumb and ineffectual. Then we're standing in line for our burritos, and the driver of the car walks in and apologizes to me, and says I was right to swing my purse at him. Well! I hope Spam took it all in. Add the fantastic scene in the movie where the good guys drop their swords for snorkels, and it was quite an evening, character-buildingwise.

I just love that little Spam. And he loves Johnny Cash. I love hearing his little five-year-old voice in the back seat singing "Ring of Fire."

Kitty is in town for her Nana's funeral and we're going to my gym tomorrow to tread the mill together. Just like when we worked together at a place that had a workout room and a pool table, and it wasn't even a dot-com. There was barely an Interweb then.

I'm sticking my little toe back into online dating pool and it's just infusing me with ennui. If it's not small talk, it's the artificial high of cyber-flirting. I'd rather keep reading the online diaries of Christian teens.

10:02 p.m. - 2003-02-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym