beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tiny bubbles

Twice in five days I've had tapioca. Years go by, I eat no tapioca. What's going on? Is it a signifying shift, a moment for tapioca?

Tapioca Once. I went to the gym in the middle of the day and had what for me is a seismically significant workout. (Picture the offspring of Olive Oyl and Mr. Pretzel and you get the Beulah picture.) Went back to work and outside my office, standing between me and my hunger, people were giving away pudding cups. (This had to do with an appearance by Angelica Huston just moments before, a connection which will only distract from the tapioca story.) So I enjoyed a rich, creamy, restorative tapioca pudding, and powered through the rest of the work day.

Tapioca Twice. To fuel my long snowy walk home from the gym tonight, I bought a hot ginger bubble tea from one of the many Japanese food stands upstairs from my gym. It took most of the walk to drink it. As I tipped the cup to get the last of the tea, the tapioca bubbles kissed me like wet little tadpoles. That was fun. Then I ate a couple and felt a little pukey.

Not Tapioca. I got an email today from a girl I went to high school with, who'd come across me on a find-your-classmates web site. "I absolutely hated PHS," she wrote. "Every second there felt like an eternity, and yet, here I am, eagerly looking up all those classmates who I resented and who ignored me for 4 endless years." Yow! Geez! I'm sorry! Please don't mail me any dog turds!

But she's a librarian now, like so many of the best minds of our generation, so I'll give her a chance.

Say, does anyone know how to darn socks? Would you tell me how? Do I need one of those eggs? Tell me here.

10:25 p.m. - 2003-02-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym