beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The sun ain't gonna shine anymore

Baghdad is smoldering. We've smoldered a lot of places in our lifetime. They don't seem to do any better for it.

The sun is out today! The leaves of my spider plant are glowing. I feel like the little girl in the great PBS documentary about the Donner Party a few years back, who in a dramatized scene of a Donner Lady's diary entry, saw the first splotch of sunlight that she could remember, and tried to put it in her apron for safekeeping.

Weird dreams last night about Yoko Ono, headbands, and blood. The last person I spoke to before I went to sleep was my sister Nilla, who was telling me about Prima's obsession with headbands. She won't be without one. I said that's not such a bad thing, on the spectrum of obsessions. Prima's other obsession, the sock one, is more developed. She's had it since she was three. She will only wear pure, smooth white cotton socks without hairs - hairs being the little threads inside of patterned socks. Oh my god, she screams and screams if she has to wear socks with hairs. Secunda's got a little headband thing going too, but she likes to wear stretchy headbands straight across her forehead, "like Janet Jackson," says Nilla.

My ongoing food obsession is these little rice and nori packets from the Hello Kitty supermarket. I get one after the gym. A nice little damp mound of seasoned rice, a crisp sheet of toasted nori, and a splotch of some flavoring, like spicy salmon or my favorite, umeboshi paste. One dollar. Superb!

9:42 a.m. - 2003-04-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym