beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hey JC, JC, won't you die for me?

So today the arts editor of the college newspaper came by to interview me for a serious think-piece on arts in education. He asked me a couple of arts-related questions, and then asked, "What's with the sash?"

We have a stash of crimson satin sashes that dignitaries -- city council, mayor, etc. -- wear in the arts festival parade. Lately I've been wearing the VICE MAYOR sash - I put it on when I make important decisions. It's like a thinking cap. Plus I just like wearing it. And I obviously had forgotten to take it off for my interview. I can't wait to see the article - whether he mentions the sash will be some kind of a benchmark.

Tonight I attended a performance of a crucifixion cantata. Not being Christian in the least, I enjoyed the poetry and the boy soprano, who, Donna Puma and I decided, needed to take a stage dive in preparation for the rock band he's sure to join in five years. The texts were very beautiful: poems by Blake, Anna Akhmatova, and Theodore Roethke, and Elie Wiesel's story about the hanging of the little boy. "The thin cricket-sound of consolation's parting word"--isn't that beautiful? That's from one of the Anna Akhmatova poems. And I enjoyed all the excerpts from JC Superstar. (I know, they're from the Bible. Tee hee.)

Okay, but here's what I didn't get about the choir. It's made up of "members and friends of the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered communities." But the women, or woman-identified, or soprano/alto people, stood on one side in black pants or skirts, and the men, male-identified, or bass/tenor/baritone people stood on the other in tuxes. What about the transgendered? What about the transgendered??

Speaking of lyrics, please, what is up with that fargin' Madonna and her new album? You're a 44-year-old professional singer, and this passes for lyrics? "It's no good when you're misunderstood, but why should I care what the world thinks of me?" Or this: "I always wished that I could find someone as beautiful as you, but in the process I forgot that I was special too." In the process?

I like how many of the Easter cards this year also include a wish for a "happy springtime, too." Maybe they're targeting people like me, who like the holiday (and the musical) but don't quite get the mystery of the resurrection.

Tired. Want to finish Friday x-word. Good night!

11:49 p.m. - 2003-04-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym