beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My friend Bubbles

I'm very susceptible to biographies and crime memoirs. When I get a compelling biography, I will read it for six or seven hours at a stretch, taking on the subject's experiences and perceptions to the exclusion of my own. This can really wreck one's weekend. When I read "Who Killed Kurt Cobain" I had bad dreams that Courtney was coming to kill me for reading the book. David Sedaris mentioned in an interview once that his favorite book was an account by a journalist of the two years she spent with a schizophrenic woman in a group home; I got it from the library, read it over two days, and started to feel mighty funny inside my own head.

For the past few days I've been reading a biography of Helen Keller, so you can only imagine.

Yesterday, however, the real-life sun came out quite strongly and BuniStG and I drove out to Walden Pond to swim. The water felt exactly like melted snow.

The birthday party of Bubbles was a smash! Donna Puma had bought a life-size cutout of A Jolie as Lara Croft and set it up at the bar, and when Bubbles noticed, she did, as predicted, pee her pants.

Bubbles also entertained us with stories of seduction by pedicurists and hair stylists. A bunch of us go to Sunny Nails to get the pedicure of John, who throws in a complimentary foot and ankle massage. He's never gone higher than mid-calf for me, but Bubbles the other day was massaged up to the knee and then invited into the back room! "What's in there," I asked. "Racy Vietnamese travel videos?" No! John tried to seduce Bubbles! And a few weeks ago, a haircut at another place turned into a complimentary shiatsu massage, a breast grab, and an offer of a a "special release," only this guy, a regular North Shore Bostonian, was not trained in the traditional euphemism and asked if he could touch Bubbles "down there." Tomb raider!

Man! Maybe I just don't spend enough time indulging in beauty services. I get my hair cut twice a year, and all we ever talk about is special education.

10:41 a.m. - 2003-05-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym