beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

They had it coming

I said I would see "Chicago" when it came to the $5 theater, and I did. It was just what I expected and I ate it up in big mouthfuls, barely chewing. Even Zellweger didn't repulse me as much as I'd feared, except for when she sang and danced, and especially when her skinny, veiny legs (above) were in the shot. C Z-Jones was magnifica! Greedy and gorgeous.

And actually there were flashes of intelligence - "We can only feed them one story at a time," isn't that what Gere tells her before the big puppet number? And the puppet number itself was nuts, very Theater of Cruelty.

Still, if I could have cast this movie, with no obligations to laws of time and space, I would have cast Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas as Velma and Roxie, and Christopher Walken as Billy Flynn. Queen Latifah can stay.

10:27 a.m. - 2003-06-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym