beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Catcher in the Thy

Last Sunday I lost a contact in the bathroom. Today I found it in the bathtub. It must have formed a powerful little suction cup to stay there through all the showers and baths of this week. Incroyable! And sacre bleu!

I think Red Sox GM Theo Epstein reads my journal! Looky here.

Ish, it's SO cold and dark and damp today.

So I've been playing the part of an English teacher this week, and will be for the next several weeks. It's kind of cracking me up, me leading these discussions and giving quizzes. I am such an unscholarly reader - I get all excited about minutiae and sidetracked by associations with Aaron Spelling shows - well maybe down the road that could be scholarly material, but I don't think it's going to help these very earnest high school students learn to be better readers of the Great Books. I always miss the Big Themes, probably because politics and mind games elude me completely.

But this is such a good assignment. I'm proud of myself for this one. The Shakespeare class is studying dramatic language: rhetoric, figurative language, the thee/thou vs. you thing, wordplay. I'm going to have them rewrite a short passage from "Catcher in the Rye" using those devices. Try it! It's fun!

Donna Puma and I are going to a big rock show on Sunday!

4:33 p.m. - 2003-10-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym