beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

City Beulah, Country Beulah

So an architect, a landscape architect, an art historian, and Beulah walk into a bar...and thus began another night out for the Birthday Club, this time celebrating the birthday of the art historian. We loaded the table with tapas and drinks, argued over cobbler snobbery, confessed (two of us) having tender feelings for Steve from "Blue's Clues," and tentatively planned my own December birthday, which if those guys have their way, will include winter camping.

The day after this urbane evening, I loaded up the powerful Honda Civic and went north to Camp Sandy, where I did all my reading and more, attended a low-key off-season Bread and Puppet performance about the Second Vermont Republic, helped Sandy post NO SHOOTING signs, and more country stuff. So beautiful up there. We also stopped at Putney for the harvest festival, and I got to see my god-cows, who were born this summer. Little darlings!

Something I have noticed after years of teaching obnoxious, privileged teenagers: The ones who refer to their family's second home as "I have a house in New Hampshire" or "at my country house" are the most likely to be obnoxious in general.

Still, you know that when I say "my god-cows" I don't mean to imply that I own them!

So, dear readers, should Vermont secede?

6:08 p.m. - 2003-10-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym