beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The King of the Divan

Quick update. I have a mouse in my kitchen that moves as quickly as a moth from shelf to stove to disappear. I want it to go away, but I don't want to lay a trap and deal with either its carcass or with having to transport it to a meadow or barn somewhere. Why is it up there on the shelf? Why isn't it on the floor? Maybe it is a moth.

The beaujolais nouveau arriverait a demain. I'm going to a swanky party that has nothing to do with the nouveau beaujolais but maybe they'll serve some anyway pour tout le monde de Beulah et ses amis.

Last night before I went out to dinner, I sat down with the new New Yorker and some Chex party mix. As I read the Roger Angell article about the crazy MLB post-season, I got too excited and ate all the party mix. Ow. Not so hungry for the nice dinner at Legal with the nice teachers from school.

Well, that's about as shallow as I can get. Mice, wine, and stomachache. Oh, but I was going to write about Plastic Bertrand. Well, Plastic Bertrand was a funny l'il new waver from Belgium who we all just adored. He looked like this:

that is to say, like me and all my friends, scruffy and off-kilter.

His massive hit, "Ca Plane Pour Moi" has been covered by Sonic Youth, Richard Thompson, and the Presidents of the United States, among others. He was the "king of the divan," and I hear that now he's a Scrabble champion. Go, Plastique! "Wham, bang, mon chat 'Splash' gite sur mon lit a bouffe / Sa langue en buvant trop mon whysky!" Et maintenant il me faut faire les corrections de milles des essais, et chercher le petit souris. Au revoir mes petits!

5:13 p.m. - 2003-11-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym