beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The ladies have lunched

While I was watching the movie "Monster" last night, Nancy Drew was dreaming it, and she hasn't even seen it yet. In her dream, she was the unrepentant prostitute/murderer, and as the cops took her away she said to her sister, "Please think kindly of me." Isn't that so literary?

Yesterday was the day of the bad mood and dropping everything I touched, including this laptop. I was carrying the laptop into another room and simultaneously wrenching the wet towel from my head because it was toppling, and I got all tangled up and dropped both of them. Then I tried to highlight my hair and got only a big smudge on the front part and nothing anywhere else. I also broke the top of my CD player, knocked over a few chairs, dropped many things into the bathroom sink (from which they bounced into the bathtub and rolled around noisily)...you get the picture.

Things got better when I went to the library (don't they always?) I checked out "Wiseguy," the book on which "Goodfellas" is based, and from the free table I took a copy of "My Not So Terrible Time at the Hippie Hotel." People! Read this book! It's a Young Adult novel that is so funny and honest and not condescending...it's published by a real publisher, not MTV books, so it's not choked with gratuitous playlists...(can you tell I'm not a big fan of "The Perks of Being a Wallflower," which my emo students always love?). The author also has a Diaryland site on which you can read excerpts from the sequel in progress.

Nancy Drew and I went to lunch today (breakfast for me) and then to Sephora. The guy who aggressively made up Nancy Drew's eyes said to her, "I love your friend," meaning me, who was dancing to Cher over by the barrettes, and Nancy Drew said, "Well I do too, but what about me?" He shrugged and told her to look up. Dude, you work in a makeup store, you can lose the attitude.

Okay, here's a poll. What books do you reread at least once a year, or if you're not that compulsive, have you read more than twice? Confess here.

10:23 p.m. - 2004-01-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym