beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Everybody Fung Wah tonight!

Post-gym, stuffing face. Nothing is better than a steamed tofu dog, toasted bun, yellow mustard, and chopped red onion. Nothing except the second one....

Everyone is grannying up these days. Even Baby Fawn Lust, who is all of 18.

My trip to New York was fabulous and just short enough. The first hour, though, I spent in a frenzy of trying to find an uptown train from a downtown platform, in Chinatown, during Chinese New Year, on a cold cold night, amidst crazy crowds, with totally wrong information from every possible source. Turns out there was no uptown 6 that night. At the height of my fury I was striding down the platform and a woman flung her arm out in some high-strung conversational gesture right in my face. I pushed it like a turnstile and kept going, not looking back. Now I know that the reason we don't bump into each other constantly in public spaces is that we stop, look, and listen - every step is a negotiation. But I was out of my mind with cold and frustration.

Okay, so that was the first hour. Had to get that off my chest. The rest was just wonderful, a little dinner party at the home of a friend of Mr. Ron Coe's, with excellent food and nice, funny, smart people. It was the first New York apartment I'd ever been to that was big enough for a dining room table. Movin' on up!

The Outsider Art Fair: overwhelming, lots and lots. That's about all I can say. Lots of color, shape, intensity. Dark lines where you least expect them, strange eyes, strange blobs. I'm very susceptible to craziness, and this really seeped in. Good thing I was with the impervious Mr. Ron Coe.

And don't forget: You can't spell Fung Wah Bus without "f-u-n"!

Okay then,I'm going to pretend to work now.

1:35 p.m. - 2004-01-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym