beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The nihilist and the butterfly

For extra credit on a vocab test, I asked my seventh graders to write a dialogue between "a nihilist who demands a panacea" and "a monarch who can comply." Here are some of the responses:

Nihilist: What do you mean god is real, we all know all things were created by gases.
Monarch: I guess I can comply with the nihilist, senater, beisdes! I might lose my position on the throne
Senetor: you can't do that sire! The religous beliefs you had in the first place got you to become a monarch.
Nihilst: Hello! I'm talking to you! Your people are dieing! You need a panacea!

N: I need a cure all for all my troubles! I live in a dark world.
M: God is a cure for the darkness!
N: I have rejected God! There is no God. If you were a good ruler, you would help me!
M: Okay, of course I will help you! I do everything anyone asks of me. Give me a moment.

And the strangest, and the best:
Nihilist: I demand a cure for my wife's illness.
Monarch Butterfly: The best thing to do is pray for her.
Nihilist: I don't want to hear it! I need a cure that works for everything.
Monarch Butterfly: Praying is the answer to all lifes problems.
Nihilst: I am not praying! I'm leaving!
Monarch Butterfly: Wait! I'm willing to comply! Here take this magic nectar.
Nihilist: Now I'm interested.

5:24 p.m. - 2004-10-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym