beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Vieques

Here in the internet cafe, the Beatles are playing from tiny, robust speakers, and cappucino is available from a machine for $1.25. And the fireman rushes in from the pouring rain...oh wait, no, that's Penny Lane. Outside, skinny dogs lap garbage and fat guys cradle their bellies, while slinky plaid-skirted schoolgirls buy hamburguesas from the corner snack bar. Pink impatiens grows wild from cracks in the sidewalk. Crazed, hoarse roosters wake me up every morning with their vocal warm-ups. Yesterday on a snorkeling trip, a guy found a shell casing. One of our own, of course. The bioluminescent bay must be the inspiration for glow sticks, dry ice, and every other bloom-y special effect. Fish swam under my legs in silver trails and every movement I made, except when I pee-peed, produced a bloom of silver light.

My first night here, at a table on the patio of a restaurant, a local dog came over and lay down on the table. He covered half the surface, curled around the curve. Vayase! I yelled. But he apparently didn't understand Spanish. He must have been a tourist.

Well then, I feel like hitting the streets. It's a lively town. I like it. And I love, love, love having bare arms outdoors.

Besos,
Expat Beulah

12:10 p.m. - 2005-01-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym