beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Miami mi encanta!

Check me out, I'm in Miami! Bienvenidos a mee-ah-mee! I left my wee island on Saturday, flew to the big island on a tiny plane, waited obediently at the gate for the big plane, and after they loaded on the passenger in a wheelchair, they announced abruptly, "Ladies and gentlemen, flight blah-blah is cancelled." Angry Massholes stomped to the service desk line. "This is the worst airline!" said one of them. Right, and the blizzard is their fault. But I wonder if they remembered to fetch the passenger in the wheelchair.

What emerged from the rumor mill in the service line was that there were no hotel rooms in San Juan (it's a big festival weekend there) so we should all try and get to Florida. That's why I'm in Miami, and though the helpful rich girl in line recommended that I stay at the Ritz, I'm enjoying the floral embrace of a Best Western. But a bus stops outside that Best Western every few minutes, and all the buses go to South Beach, so that's where I am! Nancy Drew recommended Lincoln Road Mall for the people watching, and she was right. Many insolent little dogs, women in large Dior sunglasses, fun and frisky gay guys, and many amusing t-shirts ("Everyone loves a German boy.")

Man, this city has good coffee!

And beautiful hotels. I think I'm going to get a manicure or a rosemary soak at one of them later on today.

Tomorrow I am heading home, and there I have to find my car, which I'm sure has been towed to make room for the plows. However, one of my NBFs, the man who sat next to me on the plane to Miami, is friends with the assistant city manager of Cambridge, and he says he may be able to help me out...But the worst of the $$$ penalties from a tow isn't the city's traffic ticket, it's the bastards at the tow yard. If only his fraternity brother were Pat of Pat's Tow.

Well then. Hasta manana!
Stranded Beulah.

12:19 p.m. - 2005-01-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym