beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dad's Big Dig

Wellllll, okay. Hmm. Yes. I was away for a few hair-raising days because my dad had a coronary bypass. We thought he was just going to have a little stent (that word always makes me picture a piglet) but he ended up having the full Clinton: five arteries all patched up and new, and all his ribs cracked open and put back with twisty-ties. Poor daddy.

The nurses and the gift shop staff at the hospital thought my sister and I were twins. Ha! We were born five years apart, have completely different coloring and body types...but we are both white, which is the minority in the District of Columbia.

It was kind of fun being in the pseudo-South again. When we moved there when I was 16 I thought it was soooo far north. Now, being a Mass-hole, it feels southish. Must have been the okra in the cafeteria.

So daddy is now out of the hospital and in his civilian jammies, much to his relief. In six weeks he can resume sky-diving, according to the chart in the hospital. For the first two weeks, his allowed activities include "trimming flowers."

We were in DC for three days, then I visited the Toboggan family. Let me remind you how beautiful and brilliant my nieces are. Secunda is such the artist. Her marks are so intentional, which is unusual for a four-year-old. She's now cracking little jokes and showing off her dance routines, and if you tell her she's lovely she says "thank you" quietly.

Prima was allowed to watch five minutes of the Oscars show. Her immediate reaction to the red carpet: "They try so hard to look pretty but they're just ugly." You should see her Zellweger impersonation. It's even better because she has a loose front tooth that sticks out 90 degrees, hillbilly style.

Kitty: I'm going to call you! I am totally catching up with work! And I have things to send you in the mail!

9:09 a.m. - 2005-03-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym