beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Martian Chronicles

You know, I think "suck it" is just the nastiest expression. I read a lot of blogs, see, and maybe some days the number of blogs I read is greater than the number of people I speak to, and I've noticed that a lot of otherwise prissy women use that expression to signify their dissatisfaction with the speed of their Internet provider, or the quality of their cell phone carrier, or whatever. It's just so nasty. It sounds like a rapist looming over his victim.

Tonight was a weird, unsettling night. Walking home from work over the crunchy, dirty snow, head down so I would see whether I was walking on ice or snow, I was aware of other hunchy figures walking silently, or even scarier, burbling loudly into their cell phones. I was walking behind a woman, maybe a foot and a half behind her, and suddenly she stopped and stepped aside to pass her. I really was trying not to give her a flat tire, because I'm so conscious myself of people walking too close behind me, but maybe I was grunting or panting or my coat was squeaking or something. Behind me a guy suddenly said, "Charles," but he wasn't with anyone or on his phone. A few feet away a woman whimpered as she picked her way across a nasty piece of ice. Now doesn't this sound like some sort of exodus across a steppe? Don't you get the impression that hordes of us were trudging, cheek by jowl, across a silent Martian landscape? But it was just a handful of tired, cold people walking down a regular street.

I'm so tired from the cold, from hunching into the wind and looking down so I don't trip over ice chunks. The other day a little boy knocked me into a snowdrift. It was one of those six-inch-wide sidewalks with snow berns (berms?) on either side and we passed each other at just the wrong moment and I fell over. I laughed, but boy did I feel old. The other day people were pretending it hadn't snowed, and didn't shovel the sidewalks, and now the sidewalks are thick with ice. But I'm not going to tell anyone to suck it.

Oh, blah. I'm so sick of it. Oh, blah. I just ran a super-hot bath and I'm waiting for it to cool down so I can get in it. Tonight I talked to Nancy Drew on the phone while she was in the bath. Sexay!

Hunchy,
Beulah

9:28 p.m. - 2005-03-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym