beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Easter

Yesterday was Easter Sunday and I was desperate for something to do. On the phone with Nancy Drew, I said, "Just tell me where to go and I'll go there." She suggested Pigeon Cove. I didn't feel like driving for an hour, so I substituted Castle Island, in South Boston.

Taking public transportation on field trips is always better because you have the option of not looping back to your car, and going home a different way. So I took the mythical new Silver Line to South Boston and walked a long way to Castle Island, which if you don't know it, and why would you, is a city park on the harbor. There's a fort and a snack bar, and that's about it. It was tremendously windy, which always makes me feel deranged, so after an uninspired walk by the water I followed a causeway that took me to back to the city part.

The rest of the afternoon reminded me that I like city walks a lot. I often feel ungrounded and disoriented when I'm not on a sidewalk. So I walked for about an hour across the East side and the West side of South Boston until I got to the subway.

South Boston is famous for several things: angry school segregationists back in the 1970s; an extremely white population of fake Irish and real Irish; and the L Street Brownies, a group of fanatics who swim in the harbor every New Years Day. And the St. Patrick's Day parade. Yesterday I saw some interesting detritus from the parade:

* a crushed green noisemaker
* a crushed green lollipop
* a dog wearing a shamrock bandanna
* a girl with green streaks in her hair

That's about it, because all the good people of South Boston were inside eating ham.

All in all it was a good walk that I'm not doing justice to because I have to do some work.

Bye now,
Beulah

9:58 a.m. - 2005-03-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym