beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ooo la oui, c'est fini

I got the whole ding-dang play costumed last night. Actually there are two of them. Two plays. My arms ache from hauling heavy dresses and my brain aches from the chaos of TEN people showing up for fittings at once. I thought they were going to be scheduled two at a time, but I guess I didn't exactly ask for that.

The costume stock we get to use is crammed into a space that could be six times bigger and still be crowded. So that got me a little wiggy to start with. Then the needy girl actresses started yanking my nerves. One girl wanted to find some dress she wore in a show last year because it fit so well, but it wasn't there. Another girl kept saying "that is SO Little House on the Prairie" to which I finally said, "That's actually the correct period" so she was obliged to come up with another not-funny quip, which was "I'll never fit into that, sweetie."

The guys are so much easier! The girls wince when they see a little rip in a seam and say, as if there were something sharp pressing into their eyeballs and only I can relieve the pain, "Uhhhh this is .... uhhhh....ripped...." One guy tried on a pair of seersucker pants, handed them back to me, said thanks, and left - then I noticed that they were ripped from stem to stern across the bum.

Blah blah. Whatever. They all look fine and in some cases great. These plays are so dumb. Nineteenth-century French farces. They totally remind me of "Love American Style." Maybe those comic geniuses of the 1970s went to Harvard. Probably.

Listening to new Marianne Faithfull. She sounds like a power tool.

This is not an interesting entry, but some of you were asking about the costuming, so I have reported.

Love, Beulah

9:34 a.m. - 2005-04-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym