beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is my life in May

I've had a dee-licious couple of days of, while not exactly relaxing completely, at least working less! Tomorrow I'm going to Nueva Yorka with the Greyhound. We're meeting up with Mr. Ron Coe and some of the Greyhound's cool friends, and the Greyhound has made all of the arrangements. After doing nothing but organize people for the past month, I am so delighted to just show up. I don't even know where we're staying.

I'm also in the process of subletting my apartment for the summer. As usual there's a trickle of people answering my ad on Craigs List, and I just trust that I'll narrow it down to someone who won't burn the place down. There's also a couple of healthy blonde gals from Harvard who looked at it the other day. I've been subletting for I think five summers now, and have never had any problems -- it's really a strange arrangement when you think about it. I've had at least 7 people I don't know sleeping in my bed, using my toilet, looking out my window. One summer there was a family, a big huge preacher guy, his wife, and their toddler. They left an American flag and a mug from a Chinese Christian fellowship. I still find the odd lego behind the couch.

Yeah yeah yeah. What else? I have an interview on Monday at a school way up on the North Shore. That's far, you know. After so many years of walking or biking to work, and being able to run home if I forget something, that's really far. I'm talking Manchester, not Salem. A few months ago when I mentioned to my sister and my dad I was thinking of taking a job up in Gloucester, they looked at me like I'd announced that I'd joined the Navy. I'm that Cambridge-centered. But you know, this scrambling around for work thing is getting old, and so am I. There's a cartoon in the New Yorker this week of a little kid waking up and saying, "I had another bad dream about Social Security." I feel that kid!

Maybe I'd even move way up there if I really like the school.

And yet, and yet, and yet. Whenever I'm teaching for more than a month at a time I start to lose the rest of my life. It's just so exhausting. Gah!

So does anyone want to sleep in my bed, look out my windows this summer?
http://boston.craigslist.org/sub/73236032.html

Yours in transit,
Beulah

10:02 p.m. - 2005-05-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym