beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I, Tania

After I watched the SLA documentary "Guerilla" last night, I did as the voice-over suggested and visited www.pbs.org. There I took the interactive quiz titled "What's Your Bag?" to see how I would have responded to political events of the late 60s and early 70s. My results:

High-School Teacher
Who would have thought you'd end up in your home town, teaching at your high school and engaged to a former sweetheart? Your path has taught you the power of education and expressing what you believe -- a lesson you pass on to your students. While their fashion sense might be a little off, their minds are working just fine as they debate current events. Even if some of the kids say reactionary things at times, you feel you are making a difference by helping them keep their eyes and their minds open.

Ha! Pretty accurate except for the home town and sweetheart. Now this is very interesting, because as anyone who knows me knows, when I was a young teen, following the press coverage of Patty Hearst's trial, I nursed a not-very-secret ambition to go to Berkeley and become a radical. I didn't know then that being a radical meant going to meetings, which I would not have cottoned to, and I didn't quite get the literal reality of being an armed revolutionary. I just liked the way Patty Hearst flipped off her parents, even though I loved my parents and agreed with their politics. It was just romantic nonsense. I spent hours calling up WQXI (the quixie quackers!) to win concert tickets and records, thrilled to hear my name on the air; Patty/Tania sent taped communiques to the local public radio station that were obediently and immediately broadcast.

Well, don't we all win in the end? Patty married her bodyguard and met John Waters. I'm "expressing what I believe through the power of education." And sitting in my spacious apartment in the middle of the day in my slippers and unbrushed hair, ruminating.

It's a little warmer today.

Love, Beulah


1:32 p.m. - 2005-05-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym