beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The au pair life

My reunion job ends in approximately 6 hours. I'm wrecked! It's hard being the boss. I'm used to kids melting down, and know how to comfort them and make the little deals with them ("if you're still crying in an hour we can call your mom") but what do you do with a counselor who's crying and wants to quit because a parent was mean to her?

There were so many funny things that happened over the past four days but I just have to record this one before I forget. One of the families sent their au pair, a Polish girl called Monika, along with their son Gavin, a big roly-poly six-year-old. The other day on the bus returning from the Aquarium, Monika got a text message from the dad and she asked me, "Excuse me, I don't understand what 'BM' means?" The dad had written, among many other instructions, "Make sure he has a BM tonight because if he doesn't poop he'll be sick tomorrow."

I just can't imagine being a parent and on top of everything else that demands your time, having to poke out a message like that on your phone keypad!

Okay, I have to haul myself out of bed and into some clothes and contacts in 26 minutes.

Veritas,
Beualah

7:29 a.m. - 2005-06-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym