beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've been here all along

Hi, remember me?
It's so hard for me to write while I'm working at camp. Our internet access has been frequently interrupted by electrical storms and downed trees and lightning-struck buildings, for one thing. For another, I'm just too knackered. Shattered. See how my British co-workers are influencing me?

At the moment I'm sitting at a picnic table outside the weaving studio. It's the lunch hour but I will postpone getting in line to update a bit. It's so beautiful out today, following the heat wave and last night's massive thunderstorm. Grassy weeds are waving gently; the ground is all dappled with sun; I can hear crickets buzzing all around. I can smell sawdust from the wood shop. It was pretty peaceful in the weaving shop today, too, as the noisy 14-year-olds were not present. If I never hear another Westchester whine I will be so happy. Now, second session, we actually have a handful of black kids, which is a welcome cultural shift. I"m not saying it's because they're black, but they just have better manners than most of our kids. Some of them are amazing singers, too, which should give these Rent/Wicked/Seussical maniacs a run for their money.

Tomorrow I am leaving early in the morning to fly to Atlanta for the weekend. It's a reunion of people from Athens who were in and around the music scene quite a few years ago, and I'm nervous and excited. I'm sure I will just be grinning and gaping at people all weekend. Okay, that's all I can say for now, because I really am nervous and excited. I've never done anything like this before. And leaving camp and getting on a plane will be strange enough, let alone being with all people my age.

Right then, time to join the lunch queue.

Love, Beulah

11:51 a.m. - 2005-07-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym