beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

One sniffed her pizza a lot

I'm back! I spent six days with intermittent Internet and lived! It's not that hard to go without the Worlb Wibe Web if you're out in nature, but when you're in a suburban environment that mysteriously has lost phone and DSL service (my dad's neighborhood), it's like an itch that you can't reach.

Anyway, whatever to that.

Here's an interview with my sister. It's a little dispirited in nature because we typed it in the visitor lounge of the hospital where my dad had a length of his colon removed (he's fine now!).

Beulah: So I understand you were recently on a panel to taste some new kind of pizza. Who were the other panelists? Anyone interesting?

Nilla: A mix of men and women - didn't see anyone who seemed younger than maybe 25 - and no one older than 50. I had to answer a bunch of questions when they first contacted me - how old I was, my income, how often we order pizza. There was a pair of women who were extremely loud... talking about "my no-good husband" and such. Just annoying.

B: Were you blindfolded?
N: No - we sat at tables of four, side by side. We each had a touch screen in front of us, a paper placemat, a pencil, and a pad. There was also a plate with saltines and a pitcher of water. The saltines were to eat between tastes. Like wine, right!

B: Did you compare different brands of pizza?

N: I am pretty sure it was Domino's and Papa John's - possibly Pizza Hut.

B: Did you get confused about what you were tasting?

N: No, there were definitely 3 different pizzas. But they tried to trick you up by changing the tag numbers on the slices.

B: So how many slices total did you eat?

N: In total, probably 3, 3 and a half. But if I'd eaten them all I would have eaten a pizza and a half. There were people who stayed and ate all their pizza.

B: Did you feel close to the other panelists, like on a jury? Did anyone argue? Did you have to play name games or do an icebreaker?

N: I did chat with the guy next to me - you were allowed to talk but not about the pizza. He had kids about my kids' ages - so we talked about having a kindergartener. But then he started telling me how his son was a genius and I got bored. I did ask him about the book he was reading, the new biography of Lincoln. There was a woman at my table who took forever to finish - we were always waiting for her to finish. She sniffed her pizza a lot.

B: Are you going to be on the list for other panels now?

N: I hope so. I got $60 cash. And because I referred three friends, I got a heart shaped wall hangng that says Dream on it. If you're into a country look in your house.

B: How did this compare to the time you asked a question on the Phil Donahue show several years ago?

N: It wasn't as exciting but there was a cash payoff w/ the pizza.

B: Would you tell readers about that?

N: I don't really remember!

B: You said, "I have a question for the Elliot Gould lookalike."

N: The guests were lookalikes -- I don't remember what I asked him. I bet dad would remember. It was excitng. Phil wore sneakers with his suit, I remember that.

B: What is your favorite word in the language?

N: In high school I used to write the words "plasma membrane." It might be.... [thinks]. "Sit." Because I like to.

B: Least favorite?

[Brother interjects]: Poopie.

N: Can it be a phrase? "Stop it." And I apparently have a problem with saying [slaps table] "Ya know what, Prima?" I don't even hear myself saying it. It's been pointed out that it's a problem.

B: Who do you think is going to win on Project Runway? Who deserves to win?

N: Daniel. Daniel.

B: Let's go see if Dad's awake.

N: Okay.

4:24 p.m. - 2006-02-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym