beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Small and white, clean and bright

How come nobody voted on my summer job?

Well, if you want to know, I chose Plan B: International teenagers. The moment I accepted the job, I felt immense relief. Now I can move ahead with subletting my apartment. If you know anyone reasonably clean and quiet who needs a place for June and July, let me know!

The other day I subbed at the afterschool at the groovy Quaker school. I've missed those kids! It's only been a couple of weeks, but I missed them and their foolishness and squabbles and Kitty Kat bars.

So on this day, one of the second graders was singing "Do Re Mi" as she drew, and I started singing along with her. We both effortlessly sequed into the "Do so la fa, mi do re" part, and the "but-it-doesn't-mean-anything!" interjection. Carmen, I said, are you a big "Sound of Music" fan? She said, "I only watch it every chance I get."

And off we went. She even knew the Liesl harmony on "Edelweiss." We dorked it up through most of the soundtrack; it totally made my day.

I asked her if her whole family liked to sing, and she said, "Well, my one dad, Don, can't sing on key, but my other dad can sing." Oh! I told her to ask her dads if they knew about "Singalong Sound of Music."

I wonder if to the next generation after Carmen, it won't sound odd to have two mothers or two fathers? When I asked Prima if she knew any families like that, she thought I meant like having a step-mother. I don't think same-sex couples with children have come of age yet in the Bluebird neighborhood.

Will it ever stop raining?

10:37 p.m. - 2006-05-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym