beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back to the 404

If I ever say I'm going to sublet my apartment to a Harvard student, do me a favor and beat some sense into me. I have got myself into a bit of a bind because of these two dum-dums whose plans seem to be falling apart but won't confirm whether or not they can pay for my place. So I finally did the sensible thing and gave them a deadline, even though I don't exactly have a backup. But I reposted on CL and have a couple of bites. It's all making me frantic, but this time of year always does.

The job I chose for the summer is turning out to be wildly complicated, so complicated that I can't explain it properly. I won't understand it till I'm in the middle of it, but that's always the way with me. Basically there are a lot of students arriving in different groups at different times from different countries and staying for different lengths of time. I have three categories of staff, plus a couple of combinations of people doing two jobs.

I spent five days in HOTlanta, where the new slogan is "Every day is an opening," or something like that. Folks don't like it. One night I saw a billboard for the new Coke + Coffee drink and got obsessed with buying a bottle. Finally found one...at home. Yes, right in my own (metaphorical) backyard.

The trip was muy fun. Kimba is the hostesse complete. We got to do everything and anything I wanted. My friend Cotton came down from Athens and squired me around my old neighborhood of Chamblee/Dunwoody, which is now El Chamblee/Ho Chi Minhwoody. That's my incredibly awkward way of saying there are many Vietnamese and Mexican establishments there now on Buford Highway. The Treasure Island store (sort of a K Mart) where I got my first bra is now a farmer's market. We had bib im bop in a former Arby's. And like that. It was fun.

Day before yesterday, before I succumbed to a hideous cold, I spent a couple of hours with the pre-K at the groovy Quaker school. One of my boys asked me "Are those pants comfortable without a penis?" Well, yes, but I wouldn't know the difference! Apparently he's been having comfort issues with his own manly space and the wedgie caused by the briefs.

Yesterday I was in bed all day with the cold. Today I am a little better but my ears are still squealing -- you know that symptom? It's horrible.

Adieu, adieu.

10:14 p.m. - 2006-05-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym