beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alora, alora, potatoes on the floor-a

Alora! 190 students later, here I am, catching my breath. We have 45 Italians till Saturday, then I am done. Sunday is for moving back to my apartment, which I have not seen since June 1, then Monday I start a new FTJ at a different, newer university. While I will miss the World's Greatest University, I am looking forward to the benefits, the fresher art, and my newly painted office.

Quote of the day from the Italian kids:

Ragazzo: Beulah, why must we go out today? It is too hot!
B: Because you're going to the Museum of Science. You just have to walk five minutes to the train. You'll live.
Ragazzo: Nnnnnooooo, Beulah, whyyyy must we suffer? whyyyy must we liquefy?

I love that Italian "nnnnnoooo!"

My Italian vocabulary now consists of:
Ragazzi!
A domani!
Vite!
Ciao!
Alora! (especially when playing cards)

With the one Italian group leader who doesn't speak any English, we get along quite well in a brisk patois of French and Spanish. She teaches those languages so she speaks very slowly and without native inflections, so I understand her perfectly.

I've learned several Italian card games: Scoppe (sp? It means "sweep"); Machiavelli (kind of like double solitaire) and Scala Something (the word for "40"). I've taught them rummy and double solitaire.

Ciao!

2:40 p.m. - 2006-08-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym