beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2 Lens Lens 7

Today I returned to work after 11 days of vacation, the last four of which were pretty much totally slothful. The family part was wonderful (Dad has been ragging lately on the word "awesome," but isn't "wonderful" really the same kind of exaggeration?), but I was definitely short on sleep after sharing a bed for several nights with Secunda, a lovely girl who sleeps like a warm, thrashing piglet and grinds her tiny teeth like a nutcracker.

On the last night of the year, I dreamed that I was getting married. My sister and I were setting up the ceremony and reception, both of which were taking place in a restaurant. While we were setting out placecards, my husband-to-be was apparently waiting in the wings. Various ex-boyfriends strolled into the room to congratulate me. Finally I woke up laughing - just who was I marrying, anyway? I fell asleep again and dreamed that I was at an arts fair, wearing my new wedding band, and half-heartedly shopping for a ring for my still unseen husband.

I spent New Year's Eve afternoon at a party, had a nap at home, then headed to Idiocy Central - downtown Boston - to join That Hamilton Woman and the three male people she lives with for dinner in Chinatown, which was delicious and Vietnamese. We watched a movie in their hotel room, then put on our giant "2007" glasses and wandered down to the lobby for a while, where we saw children in kilts kicking red balloons.

Going home on the T, I ran into a gang of around 8 former students of mine from the Commie school. They're all juniors in college now, at H, and Y, and Col, and Sm. Fortunately for all of us, they were not trashed, and I was no longer wearing the 2007 glasses, and we had a good time on the train. I was tickled that they still hang out together, and in fact were organizing a big sleepover with board games.

Well, so yes. If anyone wants to assign me a New Year's resolution, feel free!

10:39 p.m. - 2007-01-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym