beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Take me out

Oh, the humanity. Went to the Red Sox game last night with the Greyhound, the Taller one, and Taller's bride-elect. Architects get the best free tickets! In the eighth inning we upgraded our already excellent seats (halfway up the grandstand at first base) to the eighth row, just past first base.

This upgrade gave us an even closer look at the tense defeat of the Red Sox and in particular the weird mind-game of the very last out, in which Kevin Millar, with two strikes and Nomar on first, hit a series of six or seven foul balls in every direction. Then Nomar stole second (but it didn't count as a steal, Taller said, because there was no defensive move; but it counts as a base, right?) and then the A's pitcher did something that allowed Nomar to walk to third, and still Millar kept hitting those foul balls. Was he giving them away to kids in the stands? Was he trying to aggravate the pitcher? Who knows. Not me. But what do I know? Not much.

I had a great time, though. I totally loved the nonstop banter of the five ebullient guys sitting next to and behind me. They'd be yakking about the additions they were building on their garages or the $400 they spent on Ebay for a doll for their daughter, and without missing a cue, yell, "Nomar, hit a homar!" or "He's a bum! Trade him!" One of them told a joke that I don't get, and I'm hoping someone will clue me in. Here's what I heard:

"If it's Yom Kippur, and a left-handed batter is up, will he go sit with Sandy Koufax?"

Okay, obviously I missed part of the joke, but is there some pun on "eating it?" But why left-handed? The bride-elect of the Taller one said maybe it has to do with the dirty left hand of Arab culture? But why? That's too convoluted for me.

But all in all it was a thrilling night, just seeing the actual Dunkin Donuts sign that I've seen so often on TV, and the boys and girls in the Dunkin Dugout, and being that close to Nomar, who did not hit a homar but is such a fox.

Now will someone explain that joke to me?

10:11 a.m. - 2003-08-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym