beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

First we'll take Manhattans

Birthday week began on Saturday with a perfectly civilized dinner that turned into a boozy blur.

When I got home there were two guys and two cop cars outside my building. I asked the guys what was going on and they said something dodgy about a mistake...the cops had their IDs but they didn't do anything. Wanting to know more, but not getting information from these guys, who were obviously baked, I went upstairs and watched the hilarity of the cop cars trying to back up my street but skidding on the ice and then one of the cops himself falling down on the ice.

Well, the next morning I had forgotten all that until I was leaving the coffee shop and those same two guys said, "Hey, we saw you last night. And wow, were you DRUNK!" And it all came back to me. How rude of them to say that. And what were they doing, still together? And still not telling me what happened?

Then this morning I ran into one of my dinner dates, the art historian, at another coffee shop. He told me that though he doesn't remember it, he wept hysterically all the way home and that his boyfriend, the landscape architect, practically had to carry him.

The Greyhound, the fourth in our party, admits only to feeling "a bit askew, as though [he] were living in a villain's lair on the 'Batman' TV show..."

But let me make one thing perfectly clear: We all know how to drink. I blame the last drink at the last restaurant, as well as the current bartending trend of serving Manhattans straight up in an oversize martini glass instead of properly, on the rocks in a nice thick highball glass. I think that because the blizzard was still raging, and we were the last customers in the last place, the bartender slipped us each a whale tranquilizer.

I hope those guys were not really arrested. It's been quite a Lawr and Ordah year for Beulah. First I witnessed the domestic assault downstairs, then I had jury duty, and a break in on the same day - now I've been subpoenaed to testify in the assault case, and with my luck I'll be called as a witness for those two.

Okay, I must stagger out of here to a dinner at the College. I have some photos of the snow that I'll upload later....

Kisses, Beulah

5:37 p.m. - 2003-12-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym