beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Measure twice, cut once

The other day I wrote about a nice student who likes to write about garbage and whose band performs in space suits. Today I had to deal with this other student, who I had written to asking that he consider dropping one of the three performances he had applied to do, in order to give some other people a chance. Here's what he wrote:

"I don't mean to be arrogant, but we are three of the most respected and talented string players on this campus... We are part of a very tightly knit classical music scene at Harvard. This is our last chance to play with some of our best friends, and for you to deprive us of this opportunity is quite unfair.
"Furthermore, allowing S___ D___ to play 8 groups three years ago and
allowing P___ K___ a whole hour block two years ago set a precedent that you unfortunately have to deal with.
"If you're going to ask this to anyone, better that it be freshmen."

Whoa! Beware of any email that starts out "I don't mean to be arrogant, but..." I wrote back and invited him to come talk to me in person. I'm depriving them. Give me a break.

Love it when 21-year-olds tell me what I "unfortunately have to deal with." I'm quite aware of what I have to deal with.

Cranky and righteous,
Beulah

8:10 p.m. - 2005-02-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym