beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tear up, teepy Dean

When I was little, I thought the Monkees' song "Daydream Believer" went like this:

"Cherubs seem bejeen
Oh, what can it mean?"

And I sure did wonder what it could mean, because I was 8 years old, and I'd seen the word "benign," who knows where, I read way too much as a child, and I thought it was pronounced bejeen. And cherubs were bejeen, right, or at least they seemed so, always smiling on their puffy clouds.

I think this comes up because I was on the road for a total of five hours today, and having to listen to a lot of classic rock and oldies on the radio. But I'm home now! Listening to the shuffle, and right now it's on Stephen Prina (thanks, Kitty!).

Thanksgiving was my two scrumptious nephews, my indifferent-to-me brother, his nice wife, and her nice parents. And two big slobbery dogs that no one pays any attention to. The nephews! Curly, formerly His Majesty the Only Child, has a little speech delay that makes everything all chipmunky and adorable. He can't pronounce any of the consonants that take place in the back of your throat, so "bubblegum" is "bubbledum." He can't say "s" either, so "summer" is "dummer." Mostly he likes the d's and t's. Little Scrap, the baby, is all round blue eyes and fluffy blonde hair and two little rice teeth. We waltz around the room and he holds my hand all nice and ballroom-style and laughs soundlessly.

At dinner, Curly said he was tantful for Tarlie (his friend Charlie), and my brother said he was thankful for his two beautiful children and his loving wife. And Loving Wife said, "And? who else?" And he said, "Oh yeah, and her parents." And she laughed and pointed to me, and he said, "Oh yeah, and her." Now this is no big deal; we often take our own families for granted. It's just that his sanctimoniousness is so ridiculous. He never talked like that before he was married. They've totally indoctrinated him. At my mother's funeral he said a few things about my mother and then thanked his wife for her support. What? This is not an Academy Award speech!

Ah well. It was Thanksgiving, and as usual, I was the last one standing because I don't eat the turkey and the tryptophan and things like that. That, people, is why I seem bejeen.

10:50 p.m. - 2005-11-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym