beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kids say the darndest things, vol. CMLXII.

Yesterday I had a kindergarten class at the groovy Quaker school. One of the two boys named Zack wore a red turtleneck and a little bell on a red string. The latter is what he wanted to share at morning meeting. He passed it around, let everyone ring it, and took a couple of questions and comments. Later, during choice time, I heard him say to another kid, "So, now that you've seen my bell, what do you think of it?"

I know I report on these cutenesses a lot, but it's more fun to write about than the snarly parts, like me saying all day long, "Constanza! Constanza! [and trying hard not to call her 'Costanza'] Come down from there! You are not a loft buddy today! Do you want to sit for five minutes by your cubby? Then come down now."

Everything I know about handling five-year-olds, I get from watching "Supernanny," can you tell?

And clearing up the detritus after dismissal and finding a tiny pair of Hello Kitty underpants with the name "Min Min" on the waistband. I wonder what Min Min was wearing under her snowpants, then?

I read a very good article in the New York Times science section today about narwhal tusks. I'm serious, it was fascinating. (And I apologize if I'm making you register in order to get to the link.) Did you know that the narwhal tusk is actually a sensory organ? It has millions of nerve endings that send information about salinity and temperature and water pressure to the narwhal's brain. So, now that you've heard about the narwhal tusk, what do you think of it?

Ach. I'm tired. But finally the temperature in my living room is under control. Merci mille fois to the nice person who signed my guestbook and told me how to stop the steam from poaching me alive.

10:33 p.m. - 2005-12-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym