beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spanners in the works

Back in November I bought a sleek new wooden file cabinet. It's been riding around, flat-packed, in the trunk of the powerful Honda Civic ever since. Oh, the places we've been!

Now I'm trying to put it together. I followed the instructions of a friend of mine who used to write a handywoman column: "First, remove one layer of clothing and tie your hair back."

Then I drank some water and put the radio onto a soothing classical station. Everything was fine, and I progressed all the way to the pieces of wood called F and G, and the rolly thing that makes the drawers go in and out, and now I'm flummoxed. The diagram seems to be asking me to do something with something that doesn't exist.

So I moved to home improvement project #2. I walked to the hardware store and bought a curtain rod and brackets so that I could hang the beautiful cotton curtains I bought the other day. They are so India! Printed with chubby finches. And one panel of gold and white geometric pattern. The idea is to hang them at the head of my bed.

You know these curtain rods and brackets? They are made of the cheapest, bendiest metal possible. You always buy them for your first apartment, then curse their cheap flimsy hardware and never buy them again. That's the part I'd forgotten.

Sigh. So now I have 75+ pieces of filing cabinet in one room, and unhung birdie curtains in another. I'd ask my building super to help, but ... how to explain him? Picture Joe Pesci in "Goodfellas" when he shoots Spider in the foot. He even sounds like that.

4:38 p.m. - 2003-01-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym