beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sweat, lenses, dreams

There's a Web site for women who sweat, and it links to my diary! (My first few entries were reviews of various underarm dress shields.)

This is Janet, who runs the site. I think it's Janet, anyway. Is it someone famous?

Update on yesterday's misfortunes: When I went to my eye doctor to order a replacement contact lens, he opened my lens case and said, "But there are two lenses in here!" Yes. The one I thought was missing had stuck to the inside of the lid. Oh, how we laughed, and then he reminded me that Valentine's Day is coming and that he prefers white chocolate. I adore Dr. G. and his clear polish manicure. I always have. Even though Al Bradley insists he's a nut job.

My student assistant has still quit, however. Him and his perfect little Harvard apology. I think the freshman proctors hand those out during orientation. I've received so many of them.

But! Yesterday I joined the gym of Sgt. Donna Puma. Both she and the towering Alta go there, so there's extra incentive. I want to see Alta do her crazy spinning face - I made her do it four or five times last night at the bar.

The gym kind of skeeves me out, after my week at the luxury gym with its skylights and three sizes of towels and all the grooming products and the Kennedy School fellows reading policy journals on the elliptical machines. But my angry lesbian neighbor doesn't work at Bally's.

Oh! And before I forget, my dream. I dreamed I was moving to Williamstown, Mass. I was going to rent an apartment there, but there were many strange obstacles, such as the slit of a door that was the only entrance, and that you had to climb up a ramp of loose gravel to get there.

But here's the ickiest part. The house belonged to Jonathan Franzen. I was standing on the balcony, and Franzen is coming up the street yelling "Beulah? Beulah Bondi?" And we have this conversation about renting, and I told him I thought The Corrections was a fraud. Then he kisses me goodbye and tells me to open my mouth. Then he transfers his gum, which still had a lot of flavor, into my mouth.

I don't know if I rented the apartment, because I woke up, shaking my head in disbelief and repulsion.

10:14 a.m. - 2003-01-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym