beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dawdling with Dad

This is how nice my dad is. When I was visiting him in Maryland last week, he reminded me to keep my mitts off the NY Times Sunday crossword. When I whined about that, he cut the puzzle out, put it on a piece of paper, and ran it through his fax/copier and made me my own copy.

I like visiting my dad. I revert to teen behavior like sleeping all morning and dawdling, perhaps to provoke him, because he doesn't really get mad. Even when we were leaving to take me to the train, and Dad was at the door with his car keys, and I was in the living room reading a book that I had randomly plucked from the shelf. Dad yelled, "Come on!" and I said "Wait!" and Dad yelled, "What do you mean wait?"

It just felt so right.

The Great Gadfly posted these words today from Senator Robert Byrd: "Today I weep for my country. No more is the image of America one of strong, yet benevolent peacekeeper. Around the globe, our friends mistrust us, our word is disputed, our intentions are questioned. We flaunt our superpower status with arrogance. After war has ended the United States will have to rebuild much more than the country of Iraq.

"We will have to rebuild America's image around the globe...may God continue to bless the United States of America in the troubled days ahead, and may we somehow recapture the vision which for the present eludes us."

Thanks, Gaddles!

10:02 a.m. - 2003-03-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym