beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Radio radio

Please to excuse my longish absence. I took a powder to Vermont last week, intending to stay overnight and one day, and ended up staying five days...then down to the Cape to brother's for a few days, then back to Vermont for one more long day of weaving. Had to replenish underwear at Old Navy. Came back to piles of newspapers and a stuffed mailbox.

If I had a direct input from my brain to the Diaryland during all those hours I was weaving and driving, I'd have filled screens and screens, all with a bad soundtrack of oldies radio and "the River" - who lets these people sing songs with words like "self-esteem" in them? They're all so literal, these lyrics. So prosaic. "I called you on your cell phone/and you didn't pick up/that really hurt my self-esteem/cause I knew you knew it was me cause you could see my number on your/caller ID." Or else they're all pseudo-outlaw. "Went down to Barstow/To see a rodeo/the desert sun/blah blah blah."

Labor Day week radio ads are the worst. Cars cars cars. Worn-out cliches about changing seasons (even though nothing's changed yet). Yet once in a while on commercial radio in southern Vermont you get something really odd and wonderful, like the home improvement company that based its sales pitch on the Maslow hierarchy of needs.

All righty then. Too tired even to rant. Taught art to the little children today. Little wigglers. So much cuteness, so little attitude.

Kitty called from the road. She's in rare form. And her mom's doing fine.

More later, perhaps even tomorrow.

10:23 p.m. - 2003-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym