beulahbondo's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Season Premiere: Johnny and Prima

Okay, I'm back! My computer was disabled for a month, but I'm back. And like all good season premieres, this one features special guests, neither of whom is Heather Locklear.

Please welcome my brother-in-law, Johnny Toboggan, and my treasured niece Prima, who will tell you about the Paul McCartney concert they went to the other night. (This was a big month for Prima: She started third grade, turned eight, and saw her favorite British musician in concert!)

Beulah: What did you wear to the concert?

Johnny: A tie-dyed Yellow Submarine shirt
Prima: My Beatles shirt. The one that fits me.

Beulah: Prima, I heard you made a sign. What did it say?
Prima: It said WE <3 YOU PAUL.

Beulah: What did it look like?
Prima: Just a piece of white paper with words on it.
Johnny: She taped four sheets together.

Beulah:�Did you bring it back home with you?
Prima: Yes.

Beulah: Were there other kids there?
Prima: Like two.

Beulah:�Who was sitting near you?
Johnny: Fat people
Prima: Really fat people

Beulah: Tell me about the film they showed before Paul came on.
Prima: It was boring.
Johnny: No, Prima, that was the opening music montage.
Prima: Oh it was about his life.
Johnny: It wasn't boring, you screamed when he came on it.
Prima: Because I wanted him to come out!

Beulah: Did Paul and the band come out together or did he come out by himself first?
Johnny: They raised a curtain and there he was with his band singing "Magical Mystery Tour."

Beulah: Were there any women in the band? Back-up singers?
Johnny: No, all guys.

Beulah: What kinds of things did Paul say in between songs?
Prima: Things that happened, like, on his other tours.
Johnny: Yeah he talked about falling through a hole in the stage where the piano comes up.

Prima: Did he really fall in?
Johnny: I think so. ... I liked the story he told about one of his oldest surviving songs,
�"In Spite of All the Danger." He talked about how they hired a tape recorder. Prima loved that story, too, because he said it cost "five�pounds" (pounds?!) He had a good story about "Blackbird", too. I didn't know he got the initial idea from an old classical song by Bach.
Prima: I liked it when he played [new song] "English Tea". He said, "Would you like to have a cup of English Tea with me?"

Beulah: Did you both sing and dance?
Johnny: Oh yeah.

Beulah: Did people sit down during slow songs like "Maybe I'm Amazed"?
Prima: Some people standed up, some sat.

Beulah: Do you remember which songs Paul played piano on?
Johnny: "For No One," "Fixing� a Hole."
Prima (sings:) "Fixing a hole where the rain comes down."
Johnny: (types)
Prima: Hey you're not supposed to say every word I say.
Johnny: (types)
Prima: Oh my gosh, daddy (punches J) Delete all of that.
Johnny: Where was I... "Long and Winding Road," "English Tea" on piano.
Prima: I love that one
Johnny: There were more, too.

Beulah: Did he play the Beatles bass?
Prima: Yes.

Beulah: Did you buy a program?
Johnny: No.

Beulah: Were any of the songs notably different from the recorded versions?
Prima: I don't know
Johnny: A few were missing the Lennon voice, but pretty true to the original.
Prima: (comment deleted at her insistence)

Beulah: Did Paul mention the Beatles at all?
Prima: A little bit.
Johnny: Yeah, there was one time he�said something about the "old days" with George and John, and he said something like "I always get a little choked up on that bit", and the
�crowd cheered. (I mean, does he do that every night?)
[Beulah: Of course he does!]

Beulah: Describe a couple of highlights of the set.
Prima: I liked when I pulled out my earplugs and I didn't need them any more.
Johnny: She was pretty concerned about those earplugs, but she did fine without them. It was a great show. Prima was a real trooper, but she was tuckered out after 2 hours...Oh, he did do "Til There Was You" and I know you would have loved that, Beulah.

(Johnny hands over the keyboard to Prima to give her thoughts.)

Prima:� ufhfusdfhusfdug uhy7yguryy4ubhjfn� dffrredadbdrhgfrenhtoothghhghghgyh

�Johnny: Well I guess that's that. Hope there's something here you can use.


10:18 p.m. - 2005-09-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

cracklaugh
pirate-ships
sksmith
peth
ginaromntica
addieplum
garloo
journalman
btchelicious
blandman
weeme
habbit
kittybukkake
scanzilla
vivateasel
bonypony
galaxy
torchstar
zantimisfit
evany
mommylap
ladymerlot
metonym